Archaia prepares to launch ‘Feathers’ [Press Release]

Don’t think being bought by BOOM! Studios changes up things too much for Archaia. The publisher is still around and releasing gems, and the upcoming ‘Feathers’ looks to be no exception.

unnamed
Cover art to ‘Feathers’ #1 by Jorge Corona

An all-ages title by Jorge Corona, ‘Feathers’ is the story of a young boy born covered in feathers trying to help a lost girl. Archaia has a track record of stories with whimsy that turn out to be more than originally thought, so this is certainly another book to look out for when it launches this January.

Look! A press release!

December 8th, 2014 (Los Angeles, Calif.) – Archaia, an award-winning imprint of publisher BOOM! Studios, is pleased to announce the January debut of the new limited series Feathers. Following in the footsteps of Archaia titles Rust, Iron: Or, the War After, and The Reason for Dragons, creator Jorge Corona’s (Goners) first original work is an an all-ages adventure that dives into the darkness and beauty of life. Fans of Avatar: Legend of Korra and Amulet will fall in love with Poe, the boy covered in feathers.

 “Archaia is home to beautiful graphic novels that often break the mold for comics, and we’re approaching our single issues with that same sensibility,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “Feathers is a heartfelt story from a tremendously talented creator. Expect to see Jorge emerge as an exciting new voice in the comics community in 2015.”

Poe has always been different. Born covered in feathers, he’s watched the strange slums of the Maze from rooftops, lending a helping hand in secret and earning the title of “ghost of the Maze.” When Bianca, a feisty girl from inside the walled city, gets lost in the Maze, Poe finds himself making his very first friend. Together they’ll have to dodge street gangs and child-snatchers as they try to get Bianca home, and perhaps together will learn the secrets to his mysterious past.

Feathers#1 arrives in comic shops from Archaia on January 7th with a cover price of $3.99 under Diamond order code NOV141106. The main cover is illustrated by series creator Jorge Corona, with an incentive cover by Ken Niimura (I Kill Giants) and a 10 Years Anniversary incentive cover by Ramón K. Pérez (Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand, The Amazing Spider-Man). The Final Order Cutoff deadline for retailers is December 8th. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one! It’s also available for order directly from boom-studios.com.

x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS

Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is comprised of four distinct imprints. The original Studios imprint is home to Mike Carey’s Suicide Risk; James Tynion IV’s The Woods; Mark Waid’s Irredeemable; Sons of Anarchy; and Big Trouble in Little China. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 Guns was released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ Peanuts; Jim Davis’ Garfield; Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time, Regular Show, The Amazing World of Gumball, and Steven Universe; Mike Kunkel’s Herobear and the Kid; and Natasha Allegri’s Bee and PuppyCat. BOOM!’s experimental imprint BOOM! Box publishes The Midas Flesh and Lumberjanes. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of Mouse Guard, Cow Boy, Gunnerkrigg Court, Rust, and Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox’s vast catalog of films. In August 2014, BOOM! Studios began a similar first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox TV to develop properties for the small screen.

Variant cover to 'Feathers' #1
Variant cover to ‘Feathers’ #1 by Ken Niimura

If you like what you see, you can head over to http://www.boom-studios.com/ to order or inquire at your local comic shop.

For more info about Boom Studios, visit their Facebook or Twitter pages.

About Christopher Baggett

Christopher Baggett has owned and operated The HomeWorld independently since 2009 after spinning it off from his previous concept, 'The Anime Homeworld'. In addition to journalistic endeavors, he is an aspiring novelist. Arizona born military brat Christopher currently resides in the Georgia area.

Check Also

The Pull List: The final stand of the first detective!

Plus, a brewing superhuman war and a new series from a horror icon! It's this weeks comic releases!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *